Far South Columbus Area Commission March 7, 2024

Commissioners Present

Walcott	Present
Eubanks	Present
Morris	Present
Smith	Present
Shreve	Present
Thomas	Present
Patterson	Present
Walker	Present
Yaashantawa	Present
Quorum	Present

Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 6:40pm

Guests		
Nicholas Banks	Councilman District 5	
Jean-Philippe Dovual	Legislative Aide – Banks	
Jonathan Brown	Legislative Assistant – Banks	
Nancy Day-Achauer	Councilman District 2	
Jacob Dilley	Legislative Aide – Day-Achauer	
Marwah Warsame	Legislative Assistant – Day-Achauer	
Nancy Sully	Community Engagement-Advisor	
	senior Legislative Advisor	
David Hooie	Department Neighborhood 5	
Anthony Celebreeze	Department of Building and Zoning	
Jean Cantrell	Architect for Rubio Tires	
Maria Schaper	MORPC	

Motion to accept January's Minutes Motion by Patterson Second - Yaashantawa

Minutes accepted no Nays or Abstentions

Motion to accept Treasurer Report

Motion by Yaashantawa Second by Eubanks

	<u>Vote</u>
Eubanks	Yes
Morris	Yes
Thomas	Yes
Shreve	Yes
Patterson	Yes
Yaashantawa	Yes
Walker	Yes
Smith	Yes
Walcott	Yes

Ayes	9	Nays0	Abstentions	0
•		•		
Motion	Carries	Does Not Carry		

Commission Officers Election

Officers open Chairman, Vice Chairman, Treasurer and Recording Secretary

Chairman

Eubanks nominates Walcott

Walcott accepts

No other nominations

Second - Yaashantawa

<u>Roll Call</u>		
Eubanks	Yes	
Morris	Yes	
Thomas	Yes	
Shreve	Yes	
Patterson	Yes	
Yaashantawa	Yes	
Walker	Yes	
Smith	Yes	
Walcott	Yes	

Ayes	9	Nays0	Abstentions	0
		-		
Motion _	Carries	Does Not Carry		

FSCAC Mtg Mins 2 7-Mar-24

Chairman – Walcott

Vice Chairman
Smith nominates Eubanks
Eubanks accepts
No other nominations
Second - Yaashantawa

Vice Chairman - Eubanks

<u>Treasurer</u>
Eubanks nominates Morris
Morris accepts
No other nominations
Second – Walker

Roll Call		
Eubanks	Yes	
Morris	Yes	
Thomas	Yes	
Shreve	Yes	
Patterson	Yes	
Yaashantawa	Yes	
Walker	Yes	
Smith	Yes	
Walcott	Yes	

Ayes	9	Nays	0	Abstentions	0
Motion	Carries		Does Not Carry		
Treasurer –	Morris				

Recording Secretary
Smith nominates Self
Smith accepts
No other nominations
Second – Eubanks

Roll Call		
Eubanks	Yes	
Morris	Yes	
Thomas	Yes	
Shreve	Yes	
Patterson	Yes	
Yaashantawa	Yes	
Walker	Yes	
Smith	Yes	
Walcott	Yes	

Ayes	9	Nays0	Abstentions	0
Motion	Carries	Does Not Carry		
Recording	Secretary – Morris			

Officers for 2024 are

Walcott, Chairman Eubanks, Vice Chairman Morris, Treasurer Smith, Recording Secretary

Councilmember Nicholas Banks at Large District 5. His committees

Finance, Governance, Economics, Small Business Diversity Inclusion, Technology Department operating and Capital budget

Staff

Legislative Aide – Jean-Philippe Dorval Legislative Assistant – Jonathan Brown

Councilmember – Nancy Day-Achauer at large District 2 Legislative Aide – Jacob Dilley Legislative Assistant – Marwah Warsame Committees Arts and Culture

In charge of program to shore up non-profit capacity

Issue grants and maintains grants database. Someone to write grants for non-profit grant program.

The Executive Committee meets quarterly. The first meeting is March 14, 2024, at Marion Franklin Community Center, 2801 Lockbourne Rd at 6:30p

Resignations of Commissioners B Miller and C Miller

Motion to accept Connie Miller's resignation Made by – Thomas Second – Smith

<u>F</u>	Roll Call
Eubanks	Yes
Morris	Yes
Thomas	Yes
Shreve	Yes
Patterson	Yes
Yaashantawa	Yes
Walker	Yes
Smith	Yes
Walcott	Yes

Ayes	9	Nays0	Abstentions	0
		·		
Motion	Carries	Does Not Carry		

Motion to accept Bruce Miller's resignation Made by – Walker Second – Yaashantawa

Roll Ca	11
Eubanks	Yes
Morris	Yes
Thomas	Yes
Shreve	Yes
Patterson	Yes
Yaashantawa	Yes
Walker	Yes

Smith Walcott	Yes Yes		
Ayes9	Nays0	Abstentions	0
Motion <u>Carries</u>	Does Not Carry		
	Zonings		

Zoning Type: Demolition Permit

Zoning No.: 2404939

Zoning Address: 2646 So High St, Columbus, OH 43207

Motion: to approve Demolition permit 2404939 to demolition 2646 So High St

Made by – Walker Second – Eubanks

Roll Call			
Eubanks	Yes		
Morris	Yes		
Thomas	Yes		
Shreve	Yes		
Patterson	Yes		
Yaashantawa	Yes		
Walker	Yes		
Smith	Yes		
Walcott	Yes		

Ayes	9	Nays	0	Abstentions	0
•				- "	

Motion Carries Does Not Carry

Zoning Type: Variance Zoning No.: BZA-24-011

Zoning Address: 2699 Lockbourne Rd, Columbus, OH 43207

Motion: BZA-24-011 motion is to approve requesting variance to allow

minimum number of parking spaces allowed

Made by – Walker Second – Thomas

	Roll Call
Eubanks	Yes
Morris	Yes
Thomas	Yes
Shreve	Yes
Patterson	Yes
Yaashantawa	Yes
Walker	Yes
Smith	Yes
Walcott	Yes

Ayes	9	Nays0	<u>Abstentions</u>	0
•				

Motion Carries Does Not Carry

Zoning Type: Variance Zoning No.: CV24-003

Zoning Address: 3439 Parsons Ave, Columbus, OH 43207

Motion: to approve CV24-003 a variance to allow access to and continued use

of repair and tire sales. Request a Special Permit for a food truck

Made by – Walker Second – Thomas

	Roll Call
Eubanks	Yes
Morris	Yes
Thomas	Yes
Shreve	Yes
Patterson	Yes
Yaashantawa	Yes
Walker	Yes
Smith	Yes
Walcott	Yes

Ayes	9	Nays	0	Abstentions	0
•		•			

Motion Carries Does Not Carry

Zoning Type: Variance Zoning No.: CV23-155

Zoning Address: 3851 Highland Bluff Dr, Groveport, OH

Motion: to approve CV23-155 for in home childcare

Made by – Walker Second – Thomas

	Roll Call
Eubanks	Yes
Morris	Yes
Thomas	Yes
Shreve	Yes
Patterson	Yes
Yaashantawa	Yes
Walker	Yes
Smith	Yes
Walcott	Yes

Ayes	9	Nays0	Abstentions _	0
-		-		
Motion	Carries	Does Not Carry		

Tony Celebrezze discussed Zone In

Zone In has two Phases

Phase I – Commercial Corridors

Phase II – Residential

Phase I not finalized until April

Once finalized – If something new is built it will have to meet the new standards

City has passed a resolution until the new zone code is passed

April's meeting on April 4, 2024, Scioto Southland Community Center, 2901 Parsons Ave at 6pm, will be dedicated To Zone In

Maria Schaper – MORPC discussed Columbus Metropolitan Transportation Plan

The plan utilizes BRI Transit in select City Corridors elevate or permit traffic jams

BRT is level entrance on and off. Making it easier to use for strollers, handicaps/wheelchair accessible to board/depart coaches/buses

Currently 3 corridors proposed for set up for BRT. Other corridors will be added as needed

BRT – Bus Rapid Transit – designed to move people quickly and effortlessly.

HHS Event at Marion Franklin Community Center, 2801 Lockbourne Rd April 10, 2024, from noon until 5pm

MORPC address
III Liberty St off Front St in Brewery District

Nancy Sully gave City Report through email. If anyone would like to receive the City Report, please call 614-395-6000. If Nancy doesn't answer, please text your inquiry or request to 614-395-6200

Old Business

None

New Business

Celebrate one will be doing community Baby Showers

Robert Maeder is interest in becoming a commissioner

Motion to adjourn

Made by – Patterson

Second – Yaashantawa

Meeting adjourned 8:09pm